30
Oct
09

UNEDITED SAMPLE OF A BAD PENNY ALWAYS TURNS UP


DSCF1337(1)Introduction:

A bad penny always turns means the sin we commit will always come back to hurt us. In one way or the other. This is a story about a rebellious girl who never listened to anyone even her mum. She later found herself in a mess, and it was too late to make amendment.

Scene 1:- Interior day

Place: Ms Thomson sitting room. She was in her late 40s, a single mother of two daughters with different fathers. She has tried  to raise her children, but she has not been strong enough to discipline them.

Jenny is 19 years old, she is going to join the university to study art. She is a rebellious girl. She gets angry easily. Won’t let anyone tell her what to do.

She has been a different girl right from her childhood

It looks she is missing her father. She frequently looks at her father’s picture if her mother comes she immediately hides it.

Stacy is 16 years old. She is completely different from her step sister. She quite doesn’t understands her sister(behaviour of her sister) She understands others. She is affectionate and has a good behaviour.

Sitting room:

The two sisters watching television

Jenny:

Painting her nails

Sitting oddly stretching her leg and putting her feet on the other sit.

Ms Thomson: (mother) enters the sitting room.

Coming from work, she looks tired kept her shopping on the table, and starts unpacking, takes off her coat and sits down.

Jenny: straight away says:

We haven’t eaten, aren’t we going to eat anything? (not polite)

Stacy: (the youngest daughter) says hello to her mum.

Ms Thomson: said tiredly

I just came back from work Jenny! You are old enough to get yourself something to eat. You don’t need someone to help you.

Jenny loudly in a non polite manner

If you can’t get me something to eat, that means I can get it from somewhere else. And you know what I meant. That means going out (the night)

Mother: I don’t get that what do you mean by that?

Jenny:- with a manipulating action says

I mean I will go out and stay out.

Stacy: you always shout at mum

Jenny: shout up you little brat.

Mum: (with a louder tone to Jenny) don’t you ever use that word again on your sister do you understand.

Jenny:  (shouting back) what will you do?

Mum: Thank God it’s September soon, you will be going to University soon.

Jenny: Fine I am sick of staying with you too. I’m going, I’m going. (She left the sitting room)

Stacy: Went to her mum putting her arm around her neck, with a slow tone saying I am hungry, and said: I want to go cook something for myself. You want some too?

Mum: thank you I would like some.

Stacy: What shall we eat? I choose chicken and peas

Mum: Nope, we had that yesterday for supper. Lets have spaghetti Bolognese.

Stacy: ok cool (excited) they both went to the kitchen.

Two months later

Jenny joined the university, even at the university she started behaving badly. She goes clubbing a lot smoking stealing dating and sleeping with different guys.

Till one day the law caught up with Jenny. She was arrested for shoplifting.

Mum: Stacy I think we have letters in the post, please can you take them to the sitting room before you leave for your sports

Practise? I am in the bathroom.

Stacy: sure I will

Mum: Thank you.

Stacy: Left for the gymnasium to do her practise.

Mum: Finished her bath and started opening the envelops. Oh this is from jenny I hope she is alright. (Puzzled)

She opened the envelop

Says loudly what??? Arrested for shop lifting? Oh my goodness

She rushes and dresses and immediately went to jenny’s school

When she  got  there, she was told her daughter was later released on bail, and she was suspended from school for two months.

Mum: what are you doing to yourself my dear child? You smoke, drink and even got pregnant several times and gone for abortion to terminate the pregnancy which is not good for your future life.

Jenny: Angrily said: if you annoy me with too many word of yours, I will leave this house and never come back again.

Mum: Looking exhausted by her behaviour and said do whatever you want with your life. Thank God you are 19years of  age. You are old enough to look after yourself.

Jenny finally drop out of school and was hanging around with friends

Her Mum later left her to her fate . All Jenny’s classmates graduated successfully while Jenny was busy moving from one friend to the other smoking and doing all sort of bad things.

While Stacy was preparing to join the University to study medicine.

Jenny managed to get herself attached to a man. His behaviour was not different from hers. They became couples. His name was Tom.

Tom: Hey Jenny, we have been couples for the past three and half years now, and we have been trying to have a child, and yet nothing is happening. Is the fault coming from me or you?

Jenny: I think it’s you because i am hundred percent ok.

(showing irritation)

Tom: what do you mean?

Jenny: I think because you smoke cannabis too much that is the reason.

Tom: what about you?

Jenny: I have told you.

Tom: I think there is no need for all these. I got an idea we have to go for counselling first of all, we go see a doctor first.

They went for counselling and medical check up as agreed.

Few days later

Tom: I was called earlier today by our doctor and was told both of us should come.

Jenny: okay

Dr Ben: Hello have a sit. Well, what I am about to say now, will be like dropping a bombshell. But please you just have to be brave. Please i beg of you both especially Jenny. You have to be strong.

Tom: what is it doctor? We are listening I hope is not that bad.

Doctor: I am afraid your partner hasn’t got a womb. She did lost her womb during carless abortions and using too much pills few years back. And besides, she is a drug addict. So you see the combination of all has contributed to this result. That is it. There is nothing I can do. It’s too late for any solution. The womb is damaged badly. It’s gone. She can’t conceive a child i am very sorry.

Jenny collapse.(unconscious)

After 24 hours

Jenny: where am I?  How did I get here?

Nurse: You were brought down here by an ambulance from your surgery. Just calm down and relax.

Jenny: (shouting on top of her voice) asking, can I see my mum? Can I see Stacy? I should have listened to my mum when I was in my teens. Oh!!! My God what have I done to myself? She cried and wept bitterly………….

THE END

2 Responses to “UNEDITED SAMPLE OF A BAD PENNY ALWAYS TURNS UP”


  1. November 1, 2009 at 9:04 am

    I think your introduction works really well – it gives the piece the framing that it needs so a reader can understand.


Leave a Reply

